Symposium 2 – Comment & Reflection

Thank you very much for everyone’s comments. They are so valuable and I summed up all the comments below:

Online:

  • Amazing idea
  • Like that with your practice you are also trying to understand what emotion are – even as a self-discovery but in a very rational and grounded way. Like you are not smashing mirror to understand what anger is. Its like unveiling fake emotion
  • The notion of a mirror which does not allow you to focus is really very interesting
  • Simple and clever
  • Deep and analytical works. Happiness is something we all want to attain so you have tapped into that, it is very universal. Love how you explored the idea of emotion, it is courageous and especially tapping into your own, brilliant journey
  • So cool, so deep so exploring emotions and yet so simple
  • Courageous encounters
  • A good title is needed to help people get it straight away and that would be enough without a long explanation
  • Smiling can be the greatest act of courage of all to see the world in a single smile
  • Great idea for the final show, well produced and considered
  • The amount of things and ideas you explored is great and refreshing
  • If we present too much, we will lose authenticity
  • Look into what it means to smileit is seen differently in different cultures
  • Smiling too much is also a characteristic of when we can’t say no to people or move away from toxic people. And it compromises our happiness
  • In Paris, if you smile too much people are like what is wrong with you
  • love the depth of simplicity of your work

Live:

  • Exploring fake emotions rather than real emotions make it more interesting
  • See when people take a picture and they change their face
  • like the idea that people showing their best
  • I agree about the fake emotion but I feel like your work is about real emotion and what is it?
  • Try to look at movies to like to see how people to be happy
  • Try to look at acting
  • Have you tried to have someone take pictures of you when you smiling? Just to take the difference between when you are forcing yourself and when you are taken
  • Technical question: how to make the program
  • Love how diverse things you’ve worked on different thing you try, film and the coding, going out and invite people to do balloon stuff. Kind of exploring different which is very good
  • Smiling defensively
  • It’s interesting how you approaching because you are visiting emotion and you are not sort of part of it  (me: from not part of become part of )

Thanks again for all the comments! 🙂 There are some of them I would like to talk a bit further.

Exploring fake emotions rather than real emotions make it more interesting

Happiness is one of the emotions people desire most. We always connect smile to happiness. Smile is one of the easiest expression for human to recognize and it is common nowadays. However, it is one of the easiest emotion to fake as well. In some situation, we may use our smile to disguise something or pretend to be happy. By exploring in fake emotions such as the fake smile, we may have a glimpse of what behind our emotions or even our desires.

Smiling Video

I am happy that I received many comments on smiling videos. They related the video into more layers, such as smiling defensively, smile to say no to people, the greatest act of courage and smile in different culture. I think one of the reasons is smiling is close to our daily lives and we use smile in different situation. It is easy to link it with different things and scenarios similar to the smiling video. Take the book, “Smile Revolution” by Colin Jones as an example. He proposed smile as socialization and lubricate social interaction. Smile may actually more powerful than we thought.

Approaches

For the approach of my practice, Paola said I use a rational and grounded way in my practice and Gabby said I look like I was sort of not a part of the emotions. I think that is a great point for me to remind about my approaches. As from the beginning and also the work I did, their main inspirations comes from our daily lives, for example, the news (e.g about laughing gas), the people around me (my friends talk about their recent) and my daily observation. I always think I could see things more clearly by the perspective of an outsider so I can always be rational. I thought I can pull out my own feelings to look at people and understand our desires/humanity from their emotions. But when I did more works, I realised that is not easy to do it. I also have my own emotions and sometimes it is difficult to pull all my feelings or thoughts out.

Title

Besides, I agree with a good title is really important. I and Jonathan discussed it as well in the last tutorial. I need to think of a good title to people gets it straight away especially for the smiling videos.

Leave a comment