Smiling videos – 1st clip

In the pop-up show, everyone participated in had to make a 30-second video. At that time, I prepared a video about I was smiling until I couldn’t hold the smile anymore. I speeded it up to 30 second afterwards so the change will be more clear. At first, I was testing for how long can I smile and how I looked when I was holding a smile for a long time. My face was already sooooooooo tired after a few attempts and the muscle in my face was keep shaking. The time I could hold became shorter and shorter after each attempt. After shooting the videos, I didn’t want to and couldn’t smile anymore in that day.

However, I found the outcome is interesting. At the same time, I struggled whether I should submit it. Because I think the video is too stupid and too simple. Therefore, I asked people for some opinions and feedback. But what out my expectation were they like the video. They see something else from the video which I didn’t notice before and connected with their own experience. However, I still didn’t take my courage to submit it at last. 

Their feedback:

  • will curious how long will I smile and
  • what will happen next
  • their faces also feel tired (just like she was smiling for a long time as well/ she is following to smile unconsciously)
  • the more you force yourself to smile (be happy), the more upset you become (faker smile you will have)
  • the same feeling of how she feels when she starts to step into society to work (the frustration of wearing a “mask” and smile to everyone)
  • simple but the message is clear
  • try to take more with different background

Leave a comment