Reflection: “Happiness Gas?”

I consider this work as an experimental work and it is quite successful. I am glad that a number of people were willing to try. But still, some of them who refused and their reaction was similar to the experiment before. And I did receive some good feedback. Although they knew it was air after they inhaled it, they enjoyed the process and they discussed what it was inside with friends. Some of the audiences were even playing with the balloon, they blew and exploded. Or leaking the air inside with weird sound. I think it is good that they found their happiness in their way.

At first, I just want people to reflect on the laughing gas. But by the experiment and exhibiting in Hybrid, I found that people found something fun from the work. They would like to guess what it is with their friends. Or some people laughed even though they know it was just normal air inside. Although we cannot rely on the temporary happiness laughing gas bring us,  “happiness gas?” may give us some clues on how we can have our happiness.

What is sad that due to the bad internet connection and no QR code scanner equipped in the phone, the majority cannot connect to the website… Maybe it is better to display it in tablet or ask for the wifi in the cafe & stick it next to the instruction next time.

Besides, I did not follow the draft in “Happiness Solution?” to make a “machine”  to make the balloon. As I think it will become something extra just like the box and I just want people to focus on what it was inside the balloon. At first, I thought people would not think of the “gas” inside the balloon might be something else. So I planned to make a machine. But after I did the experiment on the street, I find that only the balloon is enough for people to imagine about it. Therefore, I think it is not necessary to make the machine in this stage.

Leave a comment